Chasing the Harvest: Migrant Workers in California Agriculture » Real Food Media » Stories from the heart of the food movement

Chasing the Harvest: Migrant Workers in California Agriculture

ABOUT CHASING THE HARVEST

The Grapes of Wrath brought national attention to the lives of California’s migrant farmworkers in the 1930s. Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers’ strikes and boycotts captured the imagination of the United States in the 1960s and 70s. Yet today, the stories of the more than 800,000 men, women, and children working in California’s fields—one third of the nation’s agricultural workforce—are rarely heard. This intimate collection of oral histories takes readers to the fields and beyond, chronicling stories of hardship but also of bravery, solidarity, and creativity in making a life built on labor in California’s fields.  

PRAISE FOR CHASING THE HARVEST

Chasing the Harvest is a deeply moving tribute to the lives of California farm workers, and their journey from Mexican villages into the cruel machinery of American agribusiness. Herein lie tales of poverty and reinvention, of exploitation and personal triumph. Thompson has given us a deeply empathic work of journalism and listening in the tradition of Studs Terkel and Alessandro Portelli.

– Héctor Tobar, NY Times bestselling author of Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free

PODCAST

COMING SOON

BOOK CLUB RECIPES

COMING SOON

SIGN-UP FOR THE BOOK CLUB

Powered byTypeform

Tags: Book Club, Current Lineup

Back to Top
X